Skip to main content

Hannah Cotton

I am a childminder in Sandgate. I am a qualified teacher and have two children of my own who are 13 and 10 years old. I offer a safe and caring environment for children to thrive in. I have been childminding for eight years now and I am very happy in my role. I offer days out to the farm, beach, coastal park, libraries, Brockhill and local parks. We also visit the children centre and go to playgroups regularly. We have two cats and a good outdoor space with lots of toys and equipment. I offer the children sensory experiences, craft, messy play, cooking, sand and water, gardening and I encourage lots of child initiated learning. I offer funding for 2 and 3 year old's.  I am first aid trained and keep up to date with regular training and safeguarding. 

Who to contact

Contact Name
Mrs Hannah Cotton
Contact Position

Where to go


When is it on?

When is childcare available
Open All Year
Carescheme Age Range:
0 year(s), 0 month(s) to 12 year(s), 0 month(s)
Opening Times
Opening Times
DayOpening TimeClosing Time
Monday 8.00 17.30
Tuesday 8.00 17.30
Wednesday 8.00 17:30
Thursday 8.00 17.30
Friday 8.00 17.30
Other Availability
I take most of my holidays during the school holidays. Usually between 4-6 weeks a year.

Other Details

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£5.50 Per hour
ECD Type
Offers pickups
Cost details
My costs include all food
trips out and groups we attend.
3-4 Year Old Funding?
2 Year Old Funding?
Total vacancies
Vacancies Details
I currently have no vacancies. I will have a vacancy on a Tuesday and Friday from January 2023. Please contact me for further details and to discuss your needs.
Places Range
Places Range
Start AgeEnd AgePlaces
0 5 3
5 8 3
Immediate vacancies?
Contact Provider for Vacancy Details?
Vacancy Information Last updated Date
Music, Messy Play Area, Cookery, Toddler Groups, Toys/dolls, Dressing Up, Outdoor Activities, Pets, Trike, Parent and Toddler Group, Parks/playgrounds, Puppets, Water Play, Games / Puzzles, Play Room, Visits and Outings, Garden, Walks, Sandpit, Arts And Crafts, Healthy Living, Reading, Refreshments, Books, Bike, Car Parking, Songs, Sleeping Area, Library - Children's Library, Library Visits, Stories, Childminding Link Group

Access to my kitchen and garden are downstairs therefore if your child requires wheelchair access please get in touch to discuss this. 

Languages Spoken:
Wheelchair Access

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 

30 Hours Extended Entitlement

Registered to provide up to 30 hours entitlement
30 Hours Partner Details (These are details of any other childcare provider(s) that this provider will work with to offer the 30 hours entitlement)

I offer the 30 hours funding. A voluntary contribution of £5 per day is in place for all funded children to cover food, trips and fuel costs. 

Service status


Local Offer

Special Needs Support

When you first visit the setting I will tell you all about my setting and our daily routine. I will also ask you questions about your child to get an idea of their needs and requirements. This will help us to decide if I am the right setting for you and your child. I have worked with special needs children in the past in my teaching role and have experience of ADHD, Autism and Dyslexia. I have also completed training to help identify children who may need extra support and my experience enables me to work closely with other settings and schools to ensure your child’s needs are met.

I follow the Early Years guidelines and outcomes. I track children's progress regularly and keep parents up to date with their child's progress through an online system. I complete 2 year checks and complete next steps for all children in my care. If I feel a child is not making progress or showing signs of having additional needs I will first speak to the parents and suggest further support from health visitor or the families GP.

 I complete daily diaries for every child in my care under the age of 5. These show what we have done each day, activities the child has completed and any 'wow' moments. I also add observations and photos to the child's EY profile. I also have ongoing next steps for the children. I speak with parent’s everyday on how the child has been that day and any issues that may have arisen are discussed. If your child has any specific needs we can discuss these on a regular basis either informally or you are welcome to meet me with out of hours at an agreed time.


The EYFS framework allows planning to be unique to your child. AT the setting I observe, assess and plan for your child in the three prime areas and four specific areas. I provide a 'language rich environment' tailored to your child's individual needs. I am happy to take advice from outside agencies and work alongside them to support your child, for example speech and language therapy. 

As a childminder I am in a very good position as I can tailor activities to ensure that your child gets the most learning from both planned activities and from help with daily routines in the home for example tidying up, getting dressed, and helping get the snack/lunch ready together. My environment can also be adapted easily to suit and accommodate your child’s needs. I offer a calm and quiet setting that is spacious and safe, home from home.  I have lots of resources and equipment and regular update and change the toys available to the children in my care to suit their needs and interests. I am a qualified teacher and have experience of working with children from 0 to 15 years old. I keep up to date with relevant training and look to improve my skills and training whenever possible.

I have not had a child in my setting with additional needs or SEN, however I will endeavour to accommodate any child where possible in the future. 

I pride myself on my relationship with parents.  I talk with parents daily about how their child has been and what they have been up to. I also complete daily diaries and take photos of children doing activities and when we are out and about and these are shared with parents daily. Parents are welcome to contact me to discuss anything about their child’s progress. I also complete the two year check which is shared with parents and health visitors.

A commitment to inclusive practice that enables all children to be included is at the heart of my work.  Where possible I treat all children equally and all children will visit the same places and take part in the same activities. For example we regularly take trips to the beach and farm, if I have a new child in my care I will revise my health and safety risk assessment to take account of any new conditions that may cause children to be at risk.



There is parking available outside my house for easy access to my front door. Unfortunately my kitchen and access to the garden are downstairs. Therefore if your child is in a wheelchair my setting may not be right for your child.  

I offer two free settling in sessions for your child to see how well they settle in. Parents can decide how long these are for but I usually suggest 2-3 hours to begin with. If a parent would like more settling in sessions I am happy to offer them at my hourly rate. I can also visit your child in another setting or in your home if you would like me to.


I review my policies and procedures annually. I keep up to date with any new training available to me and read regular articles about SEN provision.  I also have regular discussions with parents about their child’s progress. Questionnaires are sent out at regular intervals for parents to make suggestions and comments. 


If you would like more information please contact me directly on the above email or mobile number.  It would be helpful if you include in your message the age of your child and the days you require so I can let you know if I have any availability to suit your needs.

I always welcome feedback from my families and would hope you could talk to me directly regarding any issues you have about your child in my care. I have a complaints procedure in place that can be seen alongside my policies and procedures when you join my setting. I have been a childminder for 8 years and have always had happy children and parents with lots returning with new siblings.



Sign in to write a review


This directory has been set up to help you find local services and events available in your area. We make reasonable efforts to make sure that all information provided in the directory is accurate and up to date, but we do not accept any responsibility or liability for any errors in information. It is the responsibility of each individual service to update their information. For more information read our disclaimer.

Give website feedback

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)