Skip to main content

Emma Leybourne

Hi, my name is Emma Leybourne, I am an Early Years Teacher and have worked as a childminder (amongst other roles) for 8yrs at my home in Herne Bay, just a couple of minutes' walk from the sea. I live with my husband and my 3 lovely boys aged 17, 14, and 8. My middle child has special educational needs and this has driven me to complete a large range of training along with volunteer roles to give me the knowledge to support not only my child, but also others who may require additional support.

My skills are beneficial to all children, as can enhance established skills/knowledge but also support when higher support is required.  I am very passionate that all children should have access to opportunities that enable them to reach their full potential regardless of needs, also that parents need accessible information to empower them in how to support and if required, receive support for their child and themselves. 

My aim is to provide a home-from-home, enabling environment for your child/ren. I enjoy creating fun ways to teach and scaffold learning to build a solid foundation in all areas of development. I am highly passionate in my belief, that, every child learns differently and as such will differentiate activities in line with each child's needs, interests and abilities, I feel this not only supports their learning but also their self-confidence and resilience towards challenges whilst feeling supported in an appropriate and meaningful way. 

Your child's well-being and feeling happy and confident in my care is of utmost importance to me, to ensure this is possible, I like to work closely with yourselves as parents, this ensures I am always up to date with any strengths, interests or struggles that can help to ensure activities and care is always current and engaging through each step of your child's development and time with me. In addition, this open dialogue helps us, together, to offer consistency between the home and setting environments.


Who to contact

Contact Name
Contact Position
07769 173 071

Where to go

Albany Drive
Herne Bay

The setting is only a few minutes walk from Herne Bay seafront and has walkable access to bus routes, train station, shops and parks, the town and woods are only a short car drive away.

The main areas of my home that are used for childminding is the lounge/dining area, this is an open space with one end storing a large number of resources that children love.  At the end of the dining area there are patio doors at the leading out to a garden which the children have full access to and houses may activities such as water table, sand table and numerous toys and ride on vehicles. 

At times of rest, depending on age and stage, I have a quiet time/space, and also access to rooms upstairs where younger children can sleep in travel cots, being monitored by both myself in person and via monitors with camera capabilities.  Children also have supervised access to the kitchen when we are engaging in food activities or preparing snack.

I have a downstairs toilet with sink, that within childminding hours is used only by the mindees and cleaned regularly.

We are a smoke and pet free home.


When is it on?

When is childcare available
Carescheme Age Range:
0 year(s), 1 month(s) to 2 year(s), 3 month(s)
Opening Times
Opening Times
DayOpening TimeClosing Time
Monday 07:30 17:30
Tuesday 07:30 17:30
Wednesday 07:30 17:30
Thursday 07:30 17:30
Friday 07:30 17:30
Other Availability
Only if agreed on request, I will always help if I can.

Other Details

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£5.50 Per hour
ECD Type
Offers pickups
Cost details
Half days
additional hours or unsociable hours may differ in price and are only available if possible and after a discussion.
Vacancies Details
My usual hours of care are 7:30am - 5:30pm but I am willing to discuss requirements on an individual basis, dependent upon current children on roll and other commitments.
Immediate vacancies?
Contact Provider for Vacancy Details?
Vacancy Information Last updated Date
Literacy and Numeracy, Computers / It, Messy Play Area, Cookery, Paddling Pool, Toys/dolls, Dressing Up, Dance, Discussions / Talks, Outdoor Activities, Play House, Parent and Toddler Group, Parks/playgrounds, Puppets, Water Play, Games / Puzzles, Visits and Outings, Garden, Walks, Sandpit, Arts And Crafts, Baby Group, Scooter, Healthy Living, Reading, Refreshments, Books, Internet Connection, Ball Pit, Bike, Kitchen, Songs, Library - Book Trolley, Sleeping Area, Library Visits, Stories, Life Skills
Other facilities information
I aim to meet each child's interests and needs where possible, this often leads to additions to resources, activities and outings as required and feasable.

I have extensive knowledge around neurodiversity, particularly Autism and ADHD along with the co-existing conditions that may also be present. This knowledge I feel enhances all children within my cares outcomes and experiences, due to the incorporation of a number of strategies/interventions that I tend to adapt and add into everyday activities as standard.  

As a trained Neuro Linguistic Programming Practitioner I also model and teach language that promotes a positive growth mindset, this is great to start young as it can make a lot of difference to a child's self belief as they grow and move through stages in life.

Languages Spoken:
Wheelchair Access

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 

30 Hours Extended Entitlement

30 Hours Partner Details (These are details of any other childcare provider(s) that this provider will work with to offer the 30 hours entitlement)

I take FF2 and 3 & 4yr funding, this will depend upon current children on roll and hours required, however, I will always work with you to accommodate your needs.

Support with Childcare Costs

Free for 2 (families with 2 year olds receiving additional forms of government support)?
Universal Entitlements
Working Parents Entitlement

Service status


Local Offer


Special Needs Support and Advice.

Special Needs Support


Sign in to write a review


This directory has been set up to help you find local services and events available in your area. We make reasonable efforts to make sure that all information provided in the directory is accurate and up to date, but we do not accept any responsibility or liability for any errors in information. It is the responsibility of each individual service to update their information. For more information read our disclaimer.

Give website feedback

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)